TOLL FREE 866-870-5890Local 509-590-2682 Free Initial Consultations - Se habla espaƱol.

Posts tagged "assault"

Gun rights and private gun sales in Washington

Gun rights in Washington State can be a complicated topic, primarily because there are so many different laws and regulations that can affect gun owners, dealers and purchasers. If gun owners do not follow all applicable state and federal laws, they may be accused of committing a crime. In many cases, if a weapon was used in certain alleged crimes the penalties can be much higher than they would be otherwise. For instance, a simple assault can bring forth the possibility of prison time if a weapon was used in the incident.

How Washington's concealed weapon law works

Firearms and violence are a common problem in some parts of Washington State. As a result, the legislature has enacted various laws regarding weapons possession and provided law enforcement officers with the power to enforce those laws. Many violent crimes, such as robbery, murder and assault, are often committed using firearms. Some people are disturbed enough by the possibility of becoming a victim that they want the freedom to carry a conceal weapons in public.

What do Washington laws say about possession of firearms?

Crimes can happen everyday throughout Washington, and some of them are violent or threaten the safety of ordinary law-abiding citizens. Because of this, some people consider purchasing a weapon to defend themselves and their loved ones against possible attacks or assaults. Purchasing a weapon, however, is not as straightforward as many people imagine, and Washington has restricted one certain class of citizens -- felons -- from possessing them. Violation of this state can result in felony weapons charges.

Washington man taken into custody for alleged shooting in Spokane

The safety of its residents is a primary concern for authorities in Washington and throughout the United States. For this reason, the authorities are expected to treat every alleged criminal act seriously, including a simple assault charge. There are various laws enacted in prosecuting assault and weapon-related crimes in the state. One of these laws is Washington's three strikes law, which can elevate the potential penalties of violent crime charges.

Spokane man allegedly threatens woman with a weapon

Spokane residents often hear about weapons used by assailants in crimes such as robbery and assault. Suspects use weapons such as knives or guns in order to threaten their victims and commit the illegal activity. Because of the serious nature of weapon charges, the accused will want to make sure they develop the strongest possible argument in their favor.

36-year-old man enters plea in woman's death

Many anticipated a drawn-out trial in the death of a 62-year-old woman who was attacked in Washington in 2011, but the jury came to court on Dec. 2, 2013, to find that the parties had reached a plea agreement. The accused man, 36, was sentenced to two decades in prison for second-degree murder, and the jurors were dismissed. Although the investigation of the deadly assault of the woman lasted two years before the accused man's sentencing, authorities think that additional information about the involvement of at least two more people will become known.

Washington pot grower enters plea on drug, weapons charges

A marijuana grower near Spokane, Washington, who shot dead two men who broke into his home, pleaded guilty in U.S. District Court to charges of manufacturing the drug and being in possession of a firearm. He was originally charged with drug and weapons charges that meant he could have faced 15 to 40 years in prison. However, under the plea deal, he only has to face the five-year mandatory minimum.

Man charged with weapons offense, not murder

A 36-year-old man who absconded from Spokane after he killed another man during a robbery in 2012 will not be charged with murder, according to prosecutors. The city prosecutor determined they didn't have enough information to contradict the man's claim that he acted in self-defense after the death of the 33-year-old man, who died on Sept. 13. However, he will face weapons charges because he was a prohibited possessor, or a felony who possessed a weapon.