Domestic violence is an all-too-common form of violent crime in the nation these days, including in Spokane, Washington. Domestic violence charges are punishable by up to 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. If the offense is deemed a gross misdemeanor, the defendant may serve up to 365 days in jail and pay a $5,000 fine. The penalties are higher for a felony offense. However, there is always a possibility that a defendant is just wrongfully accused.
November 2014 Archives
Washington residents understand that people accused of crimes can be tried in various jurisdictions, depending on the nature of the crime involved. In general, local charges do not rise above the designation of misdemeanor and merit little more than simple fines. Crimes at the state level involved both misdemeanors and felonies, many of the latter being so serious as to merit the harshest criminal penalties, including many years in prison and even the death penalty in some circumstances. Sometimes, though, some serious crimes merit a federal trial, especially when they involve some sort of potential interstate enterprise such as drug trafficking or child pornography.
Crimes can happen everyday throughout Washington, and some of them are violent or threaten the safety of ordinary law-abiding citizens. Because of this, some people consider purchasing a weapon to defend themselves and their loved ones against possible attacks or assaults. Purchasing a weapon, however, is not as straightforward as many people imagine, and Washington has restricted one certain class of citizens -- felons -- from possessing them. Violation of this state can result in felony weapons charges.
Many cases of domestic violence in Washington erupt out of spousal abuse or other conflict between family members. Because domestic abuse can threaten the safety of spouses and children, the federal government has considered acts of violence arising from domestic conflict as crimes. Any person who perpetrates such abuse is likely to face criminal charges.